Yum!

Yum! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

When I think back to every single Christmas Day that I have spent with my mothers side of the family, I can’t help but think about Gooey Butter Cake. If you do not know what this is, right after you read my blog you will have a hankering to go make this scrumptious dessert. My grandmother has always  been the queen of Gooey Butter cake. The best piece is definitely the ones in the middle without the edges. The outside pieces never have enough “gooey butter” on them. I am going to share with you the  recipe from which my family has loved for many years.

 

First, for the cake you want 1 18 1/4-ounce package yellow cake mix, 1 egg and 8 tablespoons of melted butter. Then for the filling you will want 1 8-ounce package of softened cream cheese, 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 8 tablespoons melted butter and 1 16-ounce box powdered sugar. Directions to cooking the cake, you must preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Mix together the cake mix, butter and the eggs in an electric blender to combine everything. Then grab a pan and lightly grease the pan so the cake does not stick and pat the cake mix into the pan. Then, put the cream cheese, vanilla and eggs into a bowl and mix them together. Next, you will want to add the powered sugar to the cream cheese mix and spread that across the crust you just previously put into the pan. Bake for about 40-50 minutes make sure to check so you do not make the gooey part hard. There you have it, one of the easiest desserts to make that will make your guests drool!!

 

